Managing Daily Organisation room changes and availability

Room availability changes are treated as rules in XUNO. Room availability rules can be re-applied at any time, but can not be modified once they have been created.

In this article

IMPORTANT: Unlike the Daily Organisation page which has a “pending” feature, any room availability changes you add or delete on this page will take effect immediately on your timetable and are not considered “pending”. 
 
Room availability changes are treated as rules and are only applied initially when the item is saved. For example, moving all classes from A2 to D12 is applied immediately and any classes that could not be moved appear as a red alert on the Daily Organisation page. XUNO will then allow you to overwrite or ignore this rule on the Daily Organisation, but it will still warn you. For example, you could change any of these classes or other classes back into room A2. However, staff members wishing to request or perform a room swap will not have the room available. You could then re-apply the rule, and it will move all of your manual changes from A2 back into room D12. To save difficulties in various situations the software has been designed to work this way.

  

How to Add a Room Change

Room availability changes are treated as rules in XUNO. They can be re-applied or deleted at any time, but once saved can not be modified. Room change rules are applied immediately to your timetable and are not considered “pending”.

  1. Click on the Administration menu and then click on Room Availability under the Daily Organisation subheading.
  2. Click on the Add button.
  3. Fill out all of the fields as required. You do not have to specify a replacement room.
  4. Tick the Allow this room to be booked by teachers if you would like teachers to still be able to book this room in Rooms and Resources, or swap their class into this room.
  5. Double check that you have filled out all fields correctly. You will only be able to delete the room change after you have saved it.
  6. Click on the Save button.

  

How to Delete a Room Change

When you delete a room change rule XUNO will attempt to reverse the change back to the original room. Any changes that could not be reversed will be left in the replacement room specified by the rule.

  1. Click on the Administration menu and then click on Room Availability under the Daily Organisation subheading.
  2. Set your filtering options including the date range then press Show
  3. To delete a single room change rule, click the Delete button that corresponds to the room change rule you want to delete.
  4. To delete multiple room change rules, tick all of the corresponding checkboxes on the left of each item that is to be deleted. Once all items have been ticked, change the With Ticked drop-down list to Delete selected items and then press the Go button to confirm.

    

How to View Room Changes

  1. Click on the Administration menu and then click on Room Availability under the Daily Organisation subheading.
  2. Set your filtering options including the date range then press Show.

    

How to Reapply Room Change Rules

Room change rules can be reapplied at anytime, and as many times as you want. We recommend that you reapply some, if not all rules after your timetable has been updated and re-imported into XUNO. Once a rule has been reapplied, you will not be able to undo the changes – the changes will be applied immediately.

  1. Click on the Administration menu and then click on Room Availability under the Daily Organisation subheading.
  2. Set your filtering options including the date range then press Show
  3. Tick all of the corresponding checkboxes on the left of each room change rule that you want to reapply. Once all rules have been ticked, change the With Ticked drop-down list to Reapply selected items and then press the Go button to confirm.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us